Back to Top

Indigenous Artist Leadership Program

January 28, 2011

Keevin Lewis, Community Services Coordinator at the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI), recently wrote a blog about the various awardees of the 2010 Artist Leadership Awards from the NMAI. This summer I spent two weeks in DC using the NMAI archives investigating Native transportation and Métis art. From this research, next week I will begin working with urban Anishinaabeg youth building lowrider bikes based on Great Lakes Native history. Keevin talks a little about the project in his blog.
In addition to my award, the other artists awarded Artist Leadership Awards included John Hudson (Tsimshian), Erica Lord (Athabascan/Inupiaq), Royce Manuel (Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian), Jeri Redcorn (Caddo/Potawatomi), Kelly Church (Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Ojibwe Indians), and Eric Hamar (Haida).
Read the NMAI Blog
Learn about the projects here.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Posts by Dylan Miner

The Art of Dead Labor

The Art of Dead Labor

November 13, 2010

During September and October, I had a solo show at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit. The exhibition, “Big Enough to Win, Big Enough to Lose,” brought together a…

More By Dylan Miner