Back to Top

The Design of Dissent


Musueum of Design Atlanta
1315 Peachtree Street Northeast
Atlanta, GA 30309 USA

This exhibition features Justseeds’ artists Chip Thomas, Jess X Snow, and Josh MacPhee

Dissent is an essential part of keeping democratic societies healthy. Our ability as citizens to voice our opinion is not only our privilege, it is also a responsibility. Without dialogue, the rights we have fought so desperately for could crumble.

Speaking out against tyranny and injustice has been one of the political roles that graphic artists have embraced throughout history. The advent of the printing press in the 15th century gave graphic artists the means to disseminate their ideas widely. Since that time, designers and artists have used their skills to communicate dissent, a task made easier with the advent of the internet which makes distributing posters and other printed materials much easier.

The Design of Dissent examines graphic work that addresses social and political concerns in the United States and across the globe. The posters featured in this exhibition are drawn from two sources: an exhibition curated by graphic designers Milton Glaser and Mirko Ilic that compiles contemporary posters and printed materials designed to address injustices and the body of work commissioned and crowd-sourced by Amplifier.

Exhibition design by Susan Sanders.

Designers & artists with work in this exhibition include: Alex Briseno, Alice Drueding, Alireza Mostafazadeh, Andrew Lewis, Armando Milani, Ashley Lukashevsky, Ashton Taylor, Brooke Fischer, Bulent Erkmen, Cedomir Kostovic, Celeste Byers, Chanelle Librada Reyes, Chaz Maviyane-Davies, Chip Thomas, Chris Serrano, Chun-ilang Leo Lin, Civilization, Coco Cerrella, Copper Greene, Dalida Karić-Hadžiahmetović, Daniel Jasper, David Tartakover, Donal Thornton, Duqudus, Ernesto Yerena, Fang Chen, Gina Kiel, Götz Gramlic, Gregg Deal, Guerrilla Girls, HAWRAF, Herman Ibanez, Icy and Sot, Jackie Red Fawn, Jess X Snow, Joe Scorsone, John Creson, John Yates, Jon Key, Josh MacPhee, Kate Deciccio, Koy Suntichotinun-Act, Lex Drewinski, Margarita Sada, Mario Fuentes, Marty Neumeier, Mata Ruda, Michael Mabry, Mirko Ilić, Mohammad Sharaf, Molly Crabapple, Monica Schlaug, Munk One, Natalia Delgado Avila, Nenad Cizi, Nicholas Blechman, Paula Scher, Ramzi Moutran, Rena Chrysikopoulous, Robbie Conal, Robert Montgomery, Rommy Torrico, Sean Adams, Shepard Fairey, Shi-Zhe Yung, Stanley Eisenman, Studio Number One, Tan Kien Eng, Tatyana Fazlalizadeh, Teresa Tsang Teng, Toni Tomasek, Trudy Cole-Zielanski, United Unknown, Wesam Mazhar Haddad, Will Brown, Wishmini Perera, and Woody Pirtle.

Anti-warCulture & MediaEnvironment & ClimateFeminisms & GenderQueer LiberationRacial JusticeSocial Movements

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.